Went to see Radiohead at the legendary Starplex in Fair Park.  It’s not called that anymore, thanks to corporate branding (for which this marketer can’t really complain too much).  But it did bring back some memories of that outdoor amphitheater at which I saw some good shows growing up.

I used to sit back there (left), in the grass with the rest of general admission. Cheaper.

I guess I’ve matured with age, because we found ourselves in the seats this time (right)… my first time. (Thanks Mike)

Radiohead is one of my all-time favorite bands, and they hadn’t been to Dallas in 10 years.  That’s a long time.  So there was quite the frenzy around the whole Sunday night gig.  And they didn’t disappoint.  The stage set was incredible, with countless tubes surrounding the band and reflecting light.  Even the digital projection of the band was cooler than usual, a duotone of interesting camera angles and cropped-in drama.  And the music… fantastic!  As expected, the band played every song from their new album, In Rainbows.  To my surprise, they played some golden cuts from earlier albums, OK Computer and The Bends.  Check out one of my favorite songs ever, “Fake Plastic Trees”

This gives you a better impression of the stage set-up. I swear this segment may have been filmed from our row as I recognize the angle and some arm dancing sillouettes.

