Happy New Year everyone. Sadly, my blog entries in 2008 have been few and far between. (Or none). It doesn’t mean I haven’t been busy. Quite the opposite. I resolve to do better at keeping the posts coming. But maybe now you’ll understand where my mind’s been of late.

Last year at this time, we were winding down our big adventure in Australia, looking forward to the year ahead and optimistic for opportunities yet to be unveiled. And 2007 did not disappoint. I don’t talk much about work on Life’s a Trip, but let’s roll that way for a second. Erin kick started her journalism career with her hands on blog, the Dallas Morning News and the Home Improvement Zone as a regular radio contributor. Very cool. My career at TPN became more exciting too, as I graduated from leading the Frito Lay business to 100% new business development and an official creative role at the agency. Every day was a new challenge: learning different businesses and industries, brainstorming countless ideas, managing crazy deadlines, working with new teams, traveling all over the place and of course, experiencing the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat. (More victory, I’m happy to say.)

What a way to cap off my many years at TPN, for which I am very thankful and have deep affection.

Yes, I said cap off. After much deliberation and soul searching the past couple of months, we have decided to make 2008 a new beginning and a chance to follow my dream. In just a couple of weeks, I will officially open Ignite Studios in Dallas as agency owner with my partner and friend, Tripp.

2189845669_2c0a044146.jpg

The sign is up. The office is almost finished. And we’re working on the rest!

It’s all very exciting and at times bittersweet, as I’m leaving a great company and good friends to try my hand at this.

None of this would be possible without the support of Erin and my parents. Thank you so much.

Good things to come in 2008. Look for updates here. I wish each of you the best.

(And if you know anyone who needs some creative marketing and brand building, I know this good little agency in Dallas…)

