I love my little red Toyota pick-up truck – aka “The T.”  I never imagined how much this haulin’, dumpin’ machine would impact our day-to-day here in Dallas.  I knew from the moment we met in Greenville, Texas, that this vehicle would treat us right.

834161300_10032cc429_m.jpg

Sounds a bit dramatic, I agree.  But, anyone out there who’s had a personal flatbed vehicle probably knows what I’m talking about.  I can look in almost every area around the house, including the garage and back yard, and find multiple items to which I owe a ride in ol’ red.  It certainly feeds Erin’s estate sale habit.  Couches, tables, chairs, mattresses (new, for the record), appliances, etc.  Erin even hauled a load from Amarillo; I would have made us stop at a weight station for kicks. 

833280407_24b5cec62f.jpg

 Trucks also make getting rid of stuff so much easier, too.

831637424_a67c382207.jpg

Sadly, that’s the most notable non-work related activity I have to report of late.  Don’t be disappointed – haulin’ stuff is a slice of life here in Texas.

 I reported a few weeks ago that Lake K flooded, leaving a variety of debris scattered all over the yard once the water receded.  Biggest prizes: two paddle boats from across the way, yet to be reclaimed.  Mostly, we received a variety of logs and brush, which soon became a stagnant eye-sore along the house entrance.

The T to the rescue.  You see, Lake K is in the boonies, and there’s no brush and bulky trash service in these parts.  If it’s not bagged, it’s not considered trash.  And putting a 7-foot, 12-inch diameter log in a bag ain’t easy.

So I met my new favorite tool, the Alligator Lopper from Black & Decker. 

tylertool_1953_129716277.gif

It’s part chain saw, part tree pruner.  And 100% awesomeness.  Took out those logs and tree branches in no time.  I filled up the truck, kissed my nieces good-bye and scheduled myself a trip to the dump back in Dallas.

756691727_b616c026e0.jpg

You know how much I like the dump.

Simply pull in to the transfer station and wait your turn. 

831637384_12723df4e7_m.jpg

Show the man your Texas drivers license, and pull up to the pile.

831637374_91b3c28e11_m.jpg

Strap on those work gloves, because the dump ain’t no child’s play. 

Throw, toss and heave that junk.  Style points for a shot-put.  Just don’t let the burly men see a pirouette follow-through.

 If you’re lucky, the daddy of all trucks will make an appearance to tame the ever growing pile.

831637360_7960942af2.jpg

Do they make a bulldozer attachment for a Toyota?

