I’ve never thought about what a sister city is supposed to mean. Walking through O’Hare airport in Chicago, seeing little murals and flags celebrating Amman, Jordan and other international cities which figuratively hold hands with Chicago. I always thought it was a tourism effort or feel-good fluff. Apparently it’s more of a PR and diplomacy effort than I realized. As you know, I feel like international travel and connection provides invaluable perspective personally. Same principal should apply on a muni level too, right? I like the idea; need to look more into the execution. Check out sister cities international.

LA is sister to Taipei, Taiwan (among others)

taipei101.jpg

Austin tiene Saltillo, Mexico (con otras)

10208_b1a.jpg

Las Vegas got hitched to Angeles City, Philipines (maybe not a good way for me to talk about your sis)

mac_arthur_hiway.jpg

Do you know your sister city?

Got me thinking: Blog bros – where is our international weblog community partner?

Perhaps here is a good place to start?

