.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }
.flickr-yourcomment { }
.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }
.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }



Picture 220, originally uploaded by espeedy123.

We visited several parks near Rotorua that feature odd geothermal phenomena. Here’s a photo of a steaming lake that has orange stuff in it, probably silica or minerals or something.

Michael will kill me for posting this but when we first got up this particular morning I thought he had gas but it was just the naturally occurring sulfur in the air (or at least that’s what he told me)!

I told my mom this and she said she’d remembered hearing of an entire village in Africa wiped out at some point from a poisonous gas leak out of the earth. I can now understand how that might occur.

Right now we are in Wellington, which is on a major fault line. We hear it’s overdue for a quake. Good thing we are leaving in a couple hours!

